Living without Seroxat and other Anti Depressants

As a therapist and coach I see many clients who want to become free of the very drug that was supposed to help them feel better yet paradoxically they feel worse. So fuelled by seeing the latest client I wanted to add my experience in order to help others feel better.
So first off they are not a magic pill, there is no magic pill. They don’t fix the problem. Latest research says that taking seroxat can lead you to feel suicidal, so which would be better to feel ‘depressed’ or ‘suicidal’, well neither, however if I was prescribed something to help I really would be depressed that it made me feel worse.
In the main it seems that the anxiety/depression is like a separate entity that lives within people. They are often heard to say ‘my anxiety’ almost as if it is a part of them, yet as a linguist I often get them to look at the those very words and their perception, ‘a part’. What they want is for the anxiety to be a part from them, as in away from them not ‘part’ of them.
So for instance with yesterday’s client who has reduced from 30mg of seroxat down to 1mg and is having panic attacks, anxiety, stuck in the house, doesn’t want to be alone etc I spent a lot of time getting her to think about how she views her ‘anxiety/depression’. It really was a ‘part’ of her, sitting in her head. So as the conversation went on, I talked about separating it from her and putting it a ‘part’ from her. So as she showed me with her hands whilst gesturing at her ‘anxiety/depression’ it had moved from inside her head to about 2 foot to the left of her.
A huge part of the work I do will be based on changing the way the person is processing and internalising an experience. So when the anxiety is viewed as not being within them, it somehow seems much easier. I often ask a client how they ‘do’ anxiety/depression/panic attack etc. So if I was going to give them a holiday from it what would I have to do to feel like them?
This means they really have to stop and notice what they have to do. So I often use tales from other clients to get them to be able to track when has to happen to have their condition. So I had a client who had stopped being able to work, because he couldn’t travel on roads. So when I said what has to happen he said ‘I get a funny feeling in my tummy, then I get pins and needles in my arms then I get a tight chest and find it hard to breathe, then my head is pounding then I feel like I have to go to the toilet, like my bowels are going to open and I can’t stop them’. So my next question is have you ever lost control of your bowels, answer is no, and I say yet you fear it and use it to prevent you doing what it is you would like to do. So FEAR is FALSE EVIDENCE APPEARING REAL at work here. So I then thank them for telling me and say I now know what to do to feel as bad as them.
A few things have happened here, the realisation that there is a whole process that goes on and that they seem to be able to do it easily and how crazy that is. I then quite often ask them to take the time to do the process backwards, sometimes they have a go and realise they can’t get the same bad feelings back, and more often than not they think it is so bizarre when I have had them strip it down that they won’t even consider doing it and more usefully can’t get the same feelings back.
So with a combination of really simple methods I know that people can start to feel better and take back control and start to live fully. Being in the trap of taking anti depressants is what I call having the chains of the free wrapped tightly around you, by using a combination of techniques people can become free, now who doesn’t want to be free?

About janishough

I am an Agent of Change. I work with people who want to make changes, people who have had enough of being stuck. Coaching and mentoring individuals and companies to give them opportunity to be the best they can be, easily. I am an NLP Trainer, TFT Trainer, Hypnotherapist, IEMT and PPT Practitioner.
This entry was posted in Anti Depressants, Health, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Living without Seroxat and other Anti Depressants

  1. Fid says:

    “Being in the trap of taking anti depressants is what I call having the chains of the free wrapped tightly around you, by using a combination of techniques people can become free, now who doesn’t want to be free?”

    Amen sister!

    • janishough says:

      We have much work to do. I often tell cleints they are caught in the chains of the free too….
      I see so many clients who have got stuck in the system where they are scared to come off because they are told how difficult it will be and how bad they will feel. There is no support to ‘come’ off.
      I am simply disgusted by how easily and readily people are prescribed anti-depressants…
      Lets get working together to make change happen.

  2. Fid says:

    Absolutely. What do you have in mind?

    • Janis Hough says:

      Am mulling over some ideas on how we might JV something together. I see so many clients who are caught in this trap. Chat next week sometime?

      Janis Hough http://www.janishough.com

      NLP = The Attitude To Succeed

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Charl says:

    Because it is just that easy isn’t it and antidepressants don’t assist alot of people with serotonin deficiency!! I have suffered with panic attacks and depression for 14 years and over the years the fear storys associated with seroxat have scared the hell out of me but I have come to realise that this drug has helped me through terrible times when psychologists and others couldn’t. There is no quick fix and antidepressants don’t hold all the answers but they can help, they should not be ruled out altogether and just the negatives be focused on, because yes they don’t agree with a small ammount of people but they help millions of others successfully get on with their life! And I find your use of the word ‘crazy’ in that context very unsuitable and it shows a lack of understanding for the condition.

Leave a Reply

