Looking after your ‘self’

One of the questions I often ask clients is this ‘if you don’t look after yourself where will you live?’
Now I quite often get a bemused look and they say well I live in a house, or what do you mean.

Well what I mean is the quite literal look after your ‘self’, so in other words the body that you inhabit at this time and in this space. Because after all you take you with you where ever you go so just like in my previous blog where I spoke about internal dialogue and having it be friendly, surely you want to look after your ‘self’ as it is where you live….making sense now?
Here’s the thing if you do not have health, everything else you have is compromised. Your mind and body are linked, they work together, or not as is the case with many.

So for me for many years my health was compromised, I had endometriosis which, because I do what I do I ‘coped’ with really well, most days I didn’t have it, yet other days I really had it, pain discomfort which prevented me from being and doing what I really wanted to do. I quite literally had dis-ease in my body and as long as I kept it I was compromising my ‘self’ which is where I live.

So just before Christmas 2010 I had a full abdominal hysterectomy and now I am on the path to looking after my ‘self’ far better than ever before. My focus, attention and intention are all about improving where I live.
I was exhausted, in pain and fairly useless for the first 4 weeks, I had some complications post surgery that made me feel even worse than I thought I would.

To help my ‘self’ I spent many hours on the ‘inside’ under the influence of hypnosis/trance call it what you will a ‘state of altered consciousnesses. When I was inside, I was unaware of the conscious world, I wasn’t aware of the pain, the discomfort I was in place of relaxation, rejuvenation, a time and space that was simply restful, and boy did I need to be fully rested.

So where am I going with my ramblings? Well I know now even more than before that you truly do need to look after your ‘self’ because that is where you live. So as I now moving towards better health, to become healthier and I am future pacing what it will be like when I can ride my bike again, when I can walk Henry my dog for more than an hour and as I picture that and get fully connected to it I know intrinsically where I live will be better, stronger and healthier.

So to that end I am going to finish this blog here and go and get under the influence of a great hypnotherapist, my partner Eric who wrote and recorded some great hypnotic scripts just for me, I’m really lucky to have these as they are 100% for me, about me and getting over and through this time of ‘change’, check out his website at http://www.ericmooregolf.co.uk.
If you have read this and think you need to look after your ‘self’ better, then right now is a good time to start & you can check back in here at my blog where I will be blogging different ideas and ways of looking after your ‘self’.

Have a great day, because you can after all it is just a choice, so choose happiness and health now because you can.

About janishough

I am an Agent of Change. I work with people who want to make changes, people who have had enough of being stuck. Coaching and mentoring individuals and companies to give them opportunity to be the best they can be, easily. I am an NLP Trainer, TFT Trainer, Hypnotherapist, IEMT and PPT Practitioner.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

