A little more about SSRIs….

I am not a doctor, I am not a nurse, I have no formal academic training in medicine, yet I have learnt a lot about the ‘drugs’ that are pushed to the ‘depressed’ client as I see many of them who are fed up of being caught in the world of ‘anti depressants’ and still feeling depressed!

In the main we can split the medication available down in to the two categories below those that raise neurotransmitters and those that reduce levels of neurotransmitters.

 SSRIs (Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors) such as citalopram, escitalopram, fluoxetine, paroxetine and sertraline.
 SNRIs (Serotonin and Noradrenaline Reuptake Inhibitors) such as Amitriptyline, doxepine, Clomipramine
So basically it is about ‘brain chemistry’ because that is what neurotransmitters are about. Now I am not going to get all medical here, that is not my area of expertise.

Now here’s the thing if you are taking one of the many antidepressants and you still feel crap, is the change in your brain chemistry working with you or against you?

So most of us of have heard people say, that when you exercise you get a natural high. During exercise, the brain releases several chemicals including neurotransmitters such as endorphins. Studies have shown that certain neurotransmitters can help ward off depression. Endorphins act as guards that help to block both stress and pain. The endorphin release can lead to a natural high feeling.

And then of course you get the paradox of ‘I’m depressed I can’t do anything’ so a real simple question to ask right now, what do you think is going to do you more good, taking a drug that messes with your brain chemistry, and for the majority makes you feel crap, or taking some exercise that will produce natural highs? To me it is a no brainer…
Now here’s the thing you are, for want of better words ‘your own bar tender’ you create your own brain chemistry, so why not produce your own cocktails that make you feel real good? Is there value for you in that?

So what I am going to be doing over the coming days is blogging ways for you to increase your own happy brain chemicals naturally. So even if you are not depressed you might want to read how to get more of the ‘happy’ free chemicals in to your system.

Now I don’t know what you are doing next, I am off to do some exercise so that I can positively influence my brain chemistry….

About janishough

I am an Agent of Change. I work with people who want to make changes, people who have had enough of being stuck. Coaching and mentoring individuals and companies to give them opportunity to be the best they can be, easily. I am an NLP Trainer, TFT Trainer, Hypnotherapist, IEMT and PPT Practitioner.
This entry was posted in Anti Depressants, Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

