Healthy Weight

Healthy Weight…
Now to start with I don’t call it weight loss I call it getting healthier. Moving towards health improving health actually sounds good, it is something that you can see yourself having a vested interest in moving towards; I mean who wouldn’t want better health?

So this morning we did a review of where one of my clients is compared to where she was. It went along the lines of my clothes are getting looser, I feel more energised, I can move around easier, I pick the good healthy food off the menus, I eat slower, I know when I am full and on it goes…. All this is said with a great big smile on her face.

Key to the ongoing success is to create vivid pictures of what it is that you want. So I ask my client to time travel 6 months ahead of where we are now and to notice how she is different as she has carried on in this new healthy way of being. It is always great to see how physiology changes when clients future pace. If you are going to play movies in your mind you may as well make them ones that you really want to ‘buy’ in to.

Each session we look at self image. It will be no surprise to you to learn that the image you have of yourself has a major impact on your mood. A study was done where ‘normal’ weight individuals were split into three groups , ‘under’, ‘average’ or ‘overweight’ according to a fictional height-weight chart. Researchers found the normal weight people allocated to the ‘overweight’ group showed an increase in depression and a decrease in self-esteem compared with the people in the 2 other groups, even though in reality their weight was fine.

What this shows is that it is important to base your self image on your beliefs, your values and not someone else’s. You have to love your ‘self’. So one of the things I get clients to do is make friends with the mirror and get butt naked in front of it!!! I always find it amazing how many people never look at themselves naked; perhaps that is because I am half German and have no worries at all about being naked!!!

So I get them to get familiar with how they look in the mirror and to actually notice and even describe how they look to themselves.

Another way to do this is to actually draw an outline of the shape that you see when you look front on to the mirror and side on.

Now as much as I have said to not get swayed by others, get someone you trust and feel completely comfortable with to look at the picture you have drawn and ask them, honestly, what they see. Is it the same as you? This is a bit like running a quality control check – those with real eating disorders and body dysmorphia will see a very distorted view.

I then ask the following questions relating to continuing to become healthier, eat more healthy foods, weigh less and exercise more.

What would happen if you did? become healthier, eat more healthy foods, weigh less and exercise more.
What would happen if you didn’t? become healthier, eat more healthy foods, weigh less and exercise more.
What wouldn’t happen if you did? become healthier, eat more healthy foods, weigh less and exercise more.
What wouldn’t happen if you didn’t? become healthier, eat more healthy foods, weigh less and exercise more.

And two final question to ponder in the new way of being

Is this healthy for me?
Is this healthy for others?

And the answer is in ‘all’ ways yes it is healthier for me and others to continue to be healthier move more etc.

So get moving now towards health. If you want to know more about my work and how I can help you leave me a comment or email me at janis@janishough.com

About janishough

I am an Agent of Change. I work with people who want to make changes, people who have had enough of being stuck. Coaching and mentoring individuals and companies to give them opportunity to be the best they can be, easily. I am an NLP Trainer, TFT Trainer, Hypnotherapist, IEMT and PPT Practitioner.
This entry was posted in Health, Life, Weight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

